New Updates:

Thugs Reportedly Attack Convoy Of Minister Of Women Affairs Aisha Alhassan

– Security agents disperse thugs who launched an attack on the convoy of the minister of women affairs, Aisha Alhassan

– The minister blames politicians for allegedly hiring thugs to attack APC supporters

– PDP wins Taraba Assembly bye-election

Suspected thugs in Takum town, Taraba state, have reportedly attacked the convoy of the minister of women affairs, Aisha Alhassan.

Daily Trust reported that the minister was attacked by youths at Anguwan Dogo area of Taraba state, while she was monitoring the state assembly by-election on Saturday, August 18.

The newspaper stated that the official vehicle of the minister among others, was vandalized by the thugs who also barricaded some streets and prevented the convoy from passing through.

Mama Taraba, as she is popularly called, was however rescued after security agents intervened and dispersed the thugs.

She blamed the attack on politicians who she claimed had hired thugs to attack APC supporters in the area.

The Taraba-by election was held to fill the vacuum created by Hosea Ibi, the member representing Takum in the state House of Assembly, who was murdered in 2017.

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Sunday, August 19, declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Hon Garba Ajiya, as the winner of Saturday, August 18’s bye-election into Takum 1 state constituency.

The PDP candidate polled 10,725 to defeat his closest opponent and the candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Hon. Atem Ansho who polled 3,268 votes.

The returning officer for the election and senior lecturer with the Federal University Wukari,. Ayuba Daniel, announced the result at the collation centre in Takum.

Flanked by the national commissioner in charge of Borno Adamawa and Taraba, Alhaji Ahmed Tijani, Taraba state resident electoral commissioner, Alhaji Baba Abba Yusuf and his Yobe state counterpart, Alhaji Ahmad Makama, the returning officer said 73,183 voters registered in the constituency, but only 16,671 voters accredited and voted in the election.

Call : 08147650265 or +2348147650265

email us on :

Join others in the discussion, tell us what you think, drop your comments, we are waiting and listening.

Please drop your comments here.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!